Cotton Candy Blanket is FINALLY Finished

Hi everyone!

Sorry it’s been so long between posts, I was busy finishing up a my job, looking for a new job etc…. But I have managed to work on some crafty things too while also indulging my love of costume dramas (Downton Abbey  season 2 anyone 🙂 and aren’t you just dying to see what happens in the christmas special!)

This post though is specifically about me finally completing the afghan blanket I started crocheting back in May. I’d hoped to have it done in time for the birth of my second niece in July as a present for my oldest niece so she wouldn’t feel left out when everyone fussed over the new baby, but that didn’t end up happening. So I made sure to give her extra cuddles instead.

But I finally finished it last week nearly seven months… count them SEVEN months after starting it and I can tell you i’m so glad it’s finished as I was starting to get just a little bit tired of it after working on it for so long. I must admit there were periods of time in that seven months when I didn’t touch it for a few weeks at a time too. But it’s all done now 🙂 and here it is:

Hopefully the girls will enjoy it when they get it at christmas time! For those who would enjoy details about the blanket they are as follows:

Roughly 40 x 42 inches

Main Body: Retina searing fluro Multicoloured 8ply panda yarn in Crossed Double Crochet (US) / Crossed Treble Crochet (AUS)

Border: 8ply Dark Purple wool yarn with special stitches of Popcorn Stitch and Fans 

Pattern: Cotton Candy blanket from 100 Afghans to knit and crochet by Jean Leinhauser and Rita Weiss, ISBN 9781402740275

The pattern was very easy to follow for the most part as the main body is basically the same stitch over and over again. I did find the instructions for the popcorn stitch a bit confusing when i tried to follow them  as it was only a written description of what to do with no pictures or illustrations which I would have found more helpful, and ended up using using youtube to find a video to show me how to do the stitch in the end.

Overall I was really happy with how it turned out and will be trying out some of the other patterns in the book.

Leave a Reply

